Meet the FYE Peer Mentors

FYE Peer Mentors

The following peer mentors will be in Area E First-Year Seminar courses during Spring 2021. 

   

 

  

Betsy Paredes Centeno (she/her/hers)

Email: bparedes@mail.sfsu.edu

Betsy Paredes Centeno (she/her/ella) is a master's student in Psychology's Mind, Brain, and Behavior program at SFSU, where she also got her BA in both Psychology and Latino/a Studies. She was born in San Francisco, CA and currently resides in East Palo Alto, CA. She is excited about meeting incoming first-year students and helping them navigate remote learning and the transition from high school to college.

 

Skye Taliaferro (she/her/hers)

Email: staliaferro1@mail.sfsu.edu

Skye (she/her/hers) is currently a third-year Visual Communications major who grew up in the Bay Area and is originally from San Mateo, California. She loves all things design, enjoys baking, and loves boba! Skye is excited to be a peer mentor this semester because she loves working with and being able to help students.

 

Sonia Getz (she/her/hers)

Email: sgetz@mail.sfsu.edu

My name is Sonia Getz and my pronouns are she/her. I'm a third year student at San Francisco State, studying Sociology with a minor in Race & Resistance Studies. I grew up in Silver Spring, Maryland and here in Norcal later on. Over the past few months I have enjoyed writing creative essays, helping out in the garden, and playing New Horizons.

 

Sarah Dang (she/her/hers)

Email: sdang5@mail.sfsu.edu

My name is Sarah and I was born and raised in Des Moines, Iowa but I am currently living in San Jose, California. I'm a 3rd year Kinesiology major. This Fall, I am excited for more family time, new learning experiences, and creating new friendships with first year students.

 

Makaela Mabrey (she/her/hers)

mmabrey@mail.sfsu.edu

Makaela Mabrey (she/her/hers) is a political science major from San Francisco. This semester, she hopes to discover new and efficient ways to connect with my peers online.

 

Jason Pichardo Hernandez (he/him/his)

Email: jpichardohernandez@mail.sfsu.edu

My name is Jason (he/him/his). I'm a Psychology major and was born and raised here in the Bay Area and I’m currently living in the East bay in Castro Valley. Something that excites me for fall 2020 Is I get to start doing my job again as a Peer mentor and I can’t wait to meet all my students. Another thing is the classes I’ll be taking because I think I picked really interesting classes so I’m excited for that!

 

Lorenzo Emmanuel Abecia (he/him/his)

Email: labecia@mail.sfsu.edu

My name is Lorenzo Abecia. I am currently a second year Pre-Nursing Student living here in the Bay Area in Pittsburg, California. I am excited to meet and work with first year students, the faculty, as well as to build connections and make friends with students and my fellow peers!

   

Olivia Aquino

Email: oaquino1@mail.sfsu.edu

 

   

Jair Estrada

Email: jestrada16@mail.sfsu.edu

 

   

Daniella Llamas

Email: dllamas@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

Jessica Nowak (she/her/hers)

Email: jnowak@mail.sfsu.edu

I'm Jessica, and I'm a second year double majoring in Cinema and Japanese. I'm from LA, and currently doing school online from there! I'm excited to help students with online school difficulties, and to make the experience of attending school online more fun.

   

Audrey Parker

Email: aparker4@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 (415) 338-2206

Division of Undergraduate Education and Academic Planning
ADM 447 | San Francisco State University | 1600 Holloway Avenue | San Francisco, CA 94132