SF State WASC Accreditation

SF State was reaccredited for 10 years in June 2013. Our next accreditation visit will take place in 2023. The University is currently in the process of adopting the 2013 WASC Handbook. The revised Handbook encourages universities to place emphasis on teaching and assessing five competencies at both the lower division and upper division levels. The competencies include: oral communication, written communication, information literacy, critical thinking, and quantitative reasoning. The University is currently developing and adopting assessment processes that align with these competencies.

SF State’s next reaffirmation is scheduled as follows:

  • 2020-21:  Launch the self-study process for reaffirmation
  • 2021-22:  Write the Institutional Report
  • 2022-23:  WASC review takes place with an offsite review in fall 2022 and a 3 day onsite Accreditation Review in spring 2023

WASC Documents


(415) 338-2206

Division of Undergraduate Education and Academic Planning
ADM 447 | San Francisco State University | 1600 Holloway Avenue | San Francisco, CA 94132